History of NENSGA

Our Organization is just beginning to write it's History. Discussions about starting our Organization started in the Summer of 2009 with 3 Senior golfers, Gary Bellingtier, Dave Smith, and Steve "Stub" Wells. After several weeks of exchanging ideas it was decided to move forward and develop a plan to organize the NENSGA.
Early on, it was apparent that a core group of dedicated, avid Senior golfers was needed to bring the plan together. Recommendations were sought from area Courses and along with personal knowledge the list was completed.

On February 1,2010 an Organizational meeting was held at Wayne Country Club in Wayne, Nebraska and the Northeast Nebraska Senior Golf Association was created.

The Charter Board Members are:

•    Terry Beck
•    Gary Bellingtier
•    LeRoy Hansen
•    Rob Merrill
•    Bill Schuele
•    Randy Simonsen
•    Dave Smith
•    Steve "Stub" Wells
LeRoy Hansen was elected as Acting President, Rob Merrill was elected Acting Vice President, and Terry Beck was elected as Acting Secretary Treasurer. Also in attendance at the Organizational meeting (as an Advisory Committee Member) was Troy Harder, PGA Professional at Wayne CC.
The Board decided to plan 10-12 tournaments in our inaugural year. That goal has been achieved and preparations were made to finalize the 2010 schedule.
It must be said that much of the credit for the formation of our Organization is due to the Central Nebraska Senior Golf Association, and in particular Secretary/Treasurer Floyd "Andy" Anderson. Andy provided us with 25 years of knowledge garnered by the CNSGA, as well as time tested and proven policies. Countless phone calls and e-mails were exchanged and Andy even traveled to Kearney for a personal meeting.

Andy provided packets of information and forms which were used to develop the NENSGA program. The Board Members of the NENSGA owe a huge debt of gratitude to the CNSGA, and Andy in particular. Thanks Andy!